top of page
Bettelfahrten.png

MEDIEVAL PILGRIMAGES

Pilgrimage is as old as humanity and is universal in all religions.

In the Middle Ages, the Holy Land was the most important place of pilgrimage in the Catholic Church. From the sixth century onwards, Rome, with the tomb of the Apostle Peter, also became an important destination for pilgrims. After the 'discovery of the grave' of Apostle James Maior in the ninth century, Santiago de Compostela also became a major destination for pilgrims. With this we only mention the three most important places of pilgrimage in the Catholic Church. There were, and there are, dozens, hundreds of others.

Pilgrim is traveling to a holy place. That used to be a clear description, pilgrimage was a completely religious event. Pilgrims went out to pray, to venerate a saint, to do penance, to ask forgiveness.

But pilgrimage is evolving. In the secularized world, pilgrimage can also have a non-religious meaning. Every pilgrim interprets the concept of pilgrimage in his own way. A pilgrim may have one motive but often has several. And once on the road, the motives can also change.

There are still religious motives, in addition to sporting and social ones: strengthening ties of friendship, cultural-historical interests, enjoying the landscape and nature. But many pilgrims also want to sort everything out in this sometimes hectic society, look back and forward (after studies, upon retirement, etc.), want to re-recognize what is important in their own lives, in living together with others. people, in their relationship with – or the search for – the Other, the supernatural, usually called God.

 

Many pilgrims also carry something in their backpack to process: grieving processes, relationship problems, unemployment, study problems, you name it. By distancing themselves from the daily situation and contacts with other pilgrims from all over the world, by being open to deeper values such as solidarity, friendship, simplicity, hospitality... they are looking for, hoping for a new beginning, a better start or at least a improved outlook on life.

Pilgrims are popular. And certainly pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela. The caminos to Compostela appeal to many because of their history, culture, nature and religion. In a society that focuses on the individual, there is a need for peace, for reflection, for the experience of deeper values, for contact with fellow human beings. You will find this on the caminos to Compostela, busy caminos with many pilgrims - and many contacts - but also quiet, still less traveled caminos.

After the Corona crises, a pilgrimage is very popular again and we are involved in the St Jacobs Procession in Brussels, just like theJacob's route through the Benelux Union.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram
bottom of page

top of page
Bettelfahrten.png

PÈLERINAGES MÉDIÉVAUX

Le pèlerinage est aussi vieux que l’humanité et universel dans toutes les religions.

Au Moyen Âge, la Terre Sainte était le lieu de pèlerinage le plus important de l'Église catholique. À partir du VIe siècle, Rome, avec le tombeau de l'apôtre Pierre, devint également une destination importante pour les pèlerins. Après la « découverte de la tombe » de l'apôtre Jacques Maior au IXe siècle, Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle est également devenue une destination majeure pour les pèlerins. Nous ne mentionnons ici que les trois lieux de pèlerinage les plus importants de l’Église catholique. Il y en avait et il y en a des dizaines, des centaines d’autres.

Le pèlerin se rend dans un lieu saint. Autrefois, c'était une description claire, le pèlerinage était un événement entièrement religieux. Les pèlerins sortaient pour prier, vénérer un saint, faire pénitence, demander pardon.

Mais le pèlerinage évolue. Dans le monde sécularisé, le pèlerinage peut aussi avoir une signification non religieuse. Chaque pèlerin interprète le concept de pèlerinage à sa manière. Un pèlerin peut avoir un seul motif, mais il en a souvent plusieurs. Et une fois sur la route, les motivations peuvent aussi changer.

Outre les motivations sportives et sociales, il existe encore des motivations religieuses : renforcer les liens d'amitié, les intérêts culturels et historiques, profiter du paysage et de la nature. Mais de nombreux pèlerins veulent aussi mettre de l'ordre dans cette société parfois mouvementée, regarder en arrière et en avant (après les études, à la retraite, etc.), vouloir reconnaître à nouveau ce qui est important dans leur propre vie, dans la vie avec les autres. , dans leur relation avec – ou la recherche – de l’Autre, du surnaturel, habituellement appelé Dieu.

 

De nombreux pèlerins transportent également quelque chose dans leur sac à dos à traiter : processus de deuil, problèmes relationnels, chômage, problèmes d'études, etc. En s'éloignant de la situation quotidienne et des contacts avec d'autres pèlerins du monde entier, en s'ouvrant à des valeurs plus profondes comme la solidarité, l'amitié, la simplicité, l'hospitalité... ils recherchent, espèrent un nouveau départ, un un meilleur départ ou au moins une meilleure vision de la vie.

Les pèlerins sont populaires. Et certainement le pèlerinage à Saint-Jacques de Compostelle. Les chemins de Compostelle attirent de nombreuses personnes en raison de leur histoire, de leur culture, de leur nature et de leur religion. Dans une société centrée sur l'individu, il existe un besoin de paix, de réflexion, d'expérience de valeurs plus profondes, de contact avec les autres êtres humains. Vous le trouverez sur les chemins de Compostelle, des chemins très fréquentés avec de nombreux pèlerins - et de nombreux contacts - mais aussi des chemins tranquilles, encore moins fréquentés.

Après la crise du Corona, les pèlerinages redeviennent très populaires et nous participons à la procession de Saint-Jacques à Bruxelles, tout comme leLa route de Jacob à travers l'Union Benelux.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram
bottom of page